The Centre at St. Paul’s
The repurpose and adaptive reuse of St. Paul’s School that first opened in 1883 as a military school for boys. Ten years later, the school became a college preparatory academy. The building was owned by the Cathedral of the Incarnation in the Episcopal Diocese of Long Island until 1993, when ownership was transferred to the Village of Garden City. It has been shuttered for more than 20 years and has fallen into disrepair.
CNY provided advice to stabilize and abate the existing building. CNY also provided expertise to achieve the vision for adaptive reuse formulated by the architect and Village and assisted the architect and its consultants in determining the most cost effective project design, taking into account historic preservation and the building’s unique residential setting. Means and methods, constructability, cost and skilled labor was taken into account. The vision was a multi-use recreation/sports community facility that retains historic elements of the original, spectacular building.